October: Rony – Rich chocolate tart with salt flakes

October’s theme, being Noga’s birthday month, is chocolate! When I opened this recipe and saw how easy it is, I started to wonder why I give Noga such torturous recipes (the original September for her was a Smith Island Cake).

Jamie Oliver’s recipe for a chocolate tart with salt flakes benefited from the work-from-home situation: I started the shortcrust pastry (with this recipe) during lunch and let it sit until I was wrapped up for the day and ready to face it. Too bad that by that time, it has gone rock-solid, and I didn’t have the foresight to shape it into a disc before cooling it.

Dough ball with a pan on top of it

After some banging, mashing, more banging, and rolling, I finally formed the tart base that I let chill in the fridge once again.

Tart bottom not baked yet

I usually burn my pie or tart crust due to the subjective instruction of “until brown,” so this time, I followed Jamie’s times (10-15 blind bake and then an additional 15) and was satisfied.

Tart bottom
Pot
Chocolate bar
melting chocolate
Empty chocolate pan
Chocolate tart top view

The hard part was waiting for the chocolate center to cool and set. I jiggled it many times before I decided to speed up the process with a few minutes in the freezer.

Chocolate tart with salt

I love salt (probably to an unhealthy degree), and I love that you can salt this desert even more after slicing a piece. It’s not a sweet dessert (has only about 2 teaspoons of sugar), but the dark chocolate makes it so rich. My lived-out boyfriend loved it and couldn’t wait for it to set some more so he can get another piece. I wonder if adding a layer of caramel would make this a millionaire shortbread…

Chocolate tart full with salt on top
Chocolate tart slice

Next “month’s” theme is “Geek”, which would be an adventure through time to what we defined as “Geek” back in 2016. I remember which recipe I gave Noga back before the vegan twist, and it very much aligned with all things 2016. I wonder if she did the same. We’ll find out soon!

Leave a comment